top of page

A WEEKEND IN NYC

On March 7th, I was studying with my friend Rachel and told her that I wanted to travel to New York for the weekend to get away from my busy school and work life. We ended up booking our flight & hotel the next day and this is how our spontaneous trip to New York happened. We flew out from LAX on March 9th at 6am and arrived in New York around 3pm. We stayed at the Renaissance Hotel on 57th street for 3 nights. In New York, we did all the touristy things such as visiting Times Square, Central Park, the Rockefeller Center and walking across the Brooklyn Bridge. We even met up with my friend Heidi, who goes to school in the city. We ate at a Japanese ramen place called Ippudo and their pork buns were AMAZING. You get 2 for $9 (which was pretty expensive considering they were pretty small) but nonetheless they were my favorite dish I ate during my trip. One thing I regret the most was walking to the Met Museum from our hotel. Our hotel is located on the 57th street and the Met Museum is on the 82nd street. Distance wise, it's not very far but walking in 20 degree weather is painful... Everything about this trip was perfect EXCEPT the weather. We happened to go during the coldest weekend when the temperature dropped to the 20's during the day time. It would be an understatement to say it was FREEZING and of course we didn't pack the warmest of clothes. HAHA. Overall, I had such a great weekend getaway with my friend and can't wait to visit again (hopefully next year!) :-)


bottom of page